Mike Nelson

Dates

02 Nov 18 - 03 Feb 19

Friday 02 November '18

Saturday 03 November '18

Sunday 04 November '18

Thursday 08 November '18

Friday 09 November '18

Saturday 10 November '18

Sunday 11 November '18

Thursday 15 November '18

Friday 16 November '18

Saturday 17 November '18

Sunday 18 November '18

Thursday 22 November '18

Friday 23 November '18

Saturday 24 November '18

Sunday 25 November '18

Thursday 29 November '18

Friday 30 November '18

Saturday 01 December '18

Sunday 02 December '18

Thursday 06 December '18

Friday 07 December '18

Saturday 08 December '18

Sunday 09 December '18

Thursday 13 December '18

Friday 14 December '18

Saturday 15 December '18

Sunday 16 December '18

Thursday 20 December '18

Friday 21 December '18

Saturday 22 December '18

Sunday 23 December '18

Wednesday 26 December '18

Thursday 27 December '18

Friday 28 December '18

Saturday 29 December '18

Sunday 30 December '18

Tuesday 01 January '19

Thursday 03 January '19

Friday 04 January '19

Saturday 05 January '19

Sunday 06 January '19

Thursday 10 January '19

Friday 11 January '19

Saturday 12 January '19

Sunday 13 January '19

Thursday 17 January '19

Friday 18 January '19

Saturday 19 January '19

Sunday 20 January '19

Thursday 24 January '19

Friday 25 January '19

Saturday 26 January '19

Sunday 27 January '19

Thursday 31 January '19

Friday 01 February '19

Saturday 02 February '19

Sunday 03 February '19

Time

1 hour

Price

€ 5 - 8

Where

Binario 1

About

Mike Nelson - L'Atteso
curated by Samuele Piazza


Binario 1 | OGR - Officine Grandi Riparazioni

Extra
Need to know

Mike Nelson
curated by Samuele Piazza


Binario 1 | OGR - Officine Grandi Riparazioni


There be those who say that things and places have souls, and there be those who say they have not; I dare not say, myself
H.P. Lovecraft, The Street, 1920


L'Atteso, Mike Nelson's first solo exhibition in an Italian institution, transforms the OGR into a "different place" thanks to a large-scale installation that occupies the entire hall of Binario 1 with a powerful intervention.


The first work you encounter is an older small sculpture: Untitled (intimate sculpture for a public space) (2013), in the foyer of the Officine Nord. The sculpture, with its intimate and discreet presence seems to be at odds with the scale of the work beyond and yet the two have many themes in common, preparing you for the possible readings of this vast floor made from crushed buildings and contained, vitrine-like by the glass wall that demarcates the exhibition space of Binario 1.


The space beyond is dimly lit and the dusty cars emit a sense of abandonment but appear to offer no explanation. The memories of their previous owners, both real and constructed are conjured through the patina of these banal objects mixed with the occassional intervention and manipulation of lighting.  The immersive nature of this work evokes a spatial and temporal suspension that encourages thoughts of the existential.

A disparate narrative structure emerges in relation to the history of the building, while the everday objects carefully selected by the artist, are transformed into sculpture.  The resultant landscape is akin to the earths surface it alludes to, a metaphorical stratification of meaning whose  fissures lead to many possible levels of reading, a dreamlike journey akin to science fiction.   Ultimately a conclusive understanding is purposefully denied and avoided, drawing the viewer into the voids that these possible dead ends suggest.  Visitors are invited to navigate their own personal path to build an individual narrative tied to their own understanding of the site.

L'Atteso brings together different sources of inspiration in a continued game of cross-references in which various suggestions expand and contradict themselves. Different temporalities seem to collide within the installation: a recent past re-examined in an almost archaeological way, a potential vision of the near future or a dystopian present.

Click here to download the exhibition brochure.