Ari Benjamin Meyers – In Concert

Dates

01 Mar 19 - 14 Apr 19

Friday 01 March '19

Saturday 02 March '19

Sunday 03 March '19

Thursday 07 March '19

Friday 08 March '19

Saturday 09 March '19

Sunday 10 March '19

Thursday 14 March '19

Friday 15 March '19

Saturday 16 March '19

Sunday 17 March '19

Monday 18 March '19

Friday 22 March '19

Saturday 23 March '19

Sunday 24 March '19

Thursday 28 March '19

Friday 29 March '19

Saturday 30 March '19

Sunday 31 March '19

Thursday 04 April '19

Friday 05 April '19

Saturday 06 April '19

Sunday 07 April '19

Monday 08 April '19

Thursday 11 April '19

Friday 12 April '19

Saturday 13 April '19

Sunday 14 April '19

Price

See event description

Where

Binario 1

Ari Benjamin Meyers – In Concert
Performance Thursday/Friday: 1 pm - 7 pm; Saturday/Sunday: 12 am - 6 pm
Free entrance Thursday/Friday: 11 am - 1 pm


Binario 1 | OGR – Officine Grandi Riparazioni
Exhibition curated by Valentina Lacinio & Judith Waldmann


 

“It is not so much about the performance in and of itself or even the idea that we perform something for others, but much more the space that’s opened up by this intersection between audience, musician, and music.”
Ari Benjamin Meyers, 2016

Performance | Thursday, Saturday and Sunday:12 am - 6 pm; Friday: 1 pm - 7 pm

Ari Benjamin Meyers’ first institutional solo exhibition in Italy, In Concert, curated by Valentina Lacinio and Judith Waldmann, fills the space of OGR - Officine Grandi Riparazioni from March 1 to April 14, 2019 with something that goes beyond music: a variety of social interactions and experiences. Originally trained as a conductor and composer Meyers carries the visitor past the limits and boundaries of classical western music, overcoming the distance between performers and listeners, here no longer understood as active senders and passive recipients. Meyers aims to create “a real relationship among the audience and performers and with the music.”

In Concert brings us back to the Latin roots of the term concert – meaning playing or singing together, without originally implying any division between performer and listener. Meyers creates an immersive space for musical encounters, exchanges, and experiments, involving everyone present in the given moment.
During the six-week exhibition, a group of eight performers will enact a selection of Meyers’ works. A meta-score composed by the artist provides the structure for the entire exhibition and gives rhythm to the succession of the arrangement of performances. Starting from the central piece of the show, the large-scale performance Serious Immobilities (2013), the unique path of In Concert